Try Events Hot Chocolate 10.4 km

March 4, 2017- Vancouver, BC

Toby and I volunteered to assist with same- day package pickup at this year’s race. We got up at 4 am, packed up the car in Agassiz and headed out to Vancouver’s Lumberman’s Arch in Stanley Park. Because we were early we got primo parking right next to the start/ finish area!

It was freezing cold but sunny (yay Vitamin D!) as we began to get set up for the runners’ arrival. Courtney from Run Like A Girl joined me and we got everyone all set to race!

I had originally planned to run the 10.4 km with Toby in the stroller, but my friend Mikaela showed up and offered to take him to the park to play so I could run solo! Hooray! What a nice treat!

Courtney and I started after all the other racers had gone (as well as pee breaks for us both). We hit the seawall and kept a leisurely pace, with some walk breaks thrown in. Courtney had just recently announced her pregnancy and she was battling fatigue and nausea, so we just played it by how she was feeling. (Ps- her little baby bump is so cute!)

We were treated to gorgeous views along the seawall. It was clear so you could see for miles across the ocean! One of my favourite views is the Port of Vancouver with its orange cranes, as well as the look across the water to North Vancouver- the mountains were stunning with a crisp line of fresh snow!

We crossed the finish line (which was a short, steep uphill- thanks Mitchell haha) with a burst of energy. I did my little cartwheel as we crossed, which made everyone laugh. The photographer grabbed a super flattering photo of it (see below)- haha!

After we stuffed our faces with food we cheered on the other runners and got ready for the next event: the kids fun run!

Toby was so excited to run his first race (not in a stroller)! He kept asking if it was time yet, and heading towards the start line. He was bouncing around with joy during the warm up and I loved hanging out with the other kids and parents as they prepared.

Toby took off like a shot when it was time, turned the first corner and face planted- HARD. Poor little dude tripped on the only stick on the path and scraped up his knees, hands, and face. The tears exploded out of him as I held his hand and tried to keep him moving. I ended up carrying him for half a kilometre. He did pull it together and run himself across the finish line though! And the tears were all gone when everyone cheered him on and he received his finisher’s medal. He was so proud of himself. The rest of the day he kept saying “mama I fell and that made me sad, but I am so happy I kept going and finished my first race- look at the medal I won!”

He is also asking when he can race again.

Proud mama over here!

Leave a comment